Sink or swim

J’ai reçu cette semaine une lettre de John, ce prisonnier dont j’ai déjà parlé, il évoque admirablement son murissement.

Voilà ce qu’il m’écrit après un long passage sur ce que nos échanges lui apportent: « I have learned to communicate too. How ? Well being in the streets all my life, it was an unwritten rule.   Not to show their emotions, sign of weakness. Si I always was hands on, and always acted and ask questions later.  Violence was my means of talking. I never was violent towards women, or girls. But I felt that to be standoffish and not dispaly my feelings was the tough thing to do, and I felt it played a negative role in my relationship. I now am not afraid to show my strengths and weakness. How many people feel comfortable to tell and show all of themselves anyway, but life isn’t about masks, life is about being fully and comfortably. I think that’s what prison enables one to become, which is One with themselves. How and why ? Well behind these walls, you have no materialism to define you or add to your make-up. So you either get a full grip understanding of self or loose yourself. More or less a sink or swim mental capacity. And that’s not just on everyday life in year, but how you deal with all your thoughts that derive while you are here.

C’est ce que j’avais en tête lorsqu’un ami m’a posé cette drôle de question, « qu’attends-tu de notre relation ? ». La vérité c’est que je n’attends absolument rien, parce que si je commence à en attendre quelque chose cela voudrait dire que je considère mes amis comme des pourvoyeurs, des outils, des moyens, et que leur rôle soit de répondre à mes besoins. Surtout pas. Alors si j’attends quelque chose de notre relation, comme le dit très, très bien John, c’est que tu te sentes assez en confiance dans cette relation-là, dans cette rencontre, pour être toi-même avec le moins de masques, le moins de mensonges possible, que tu sois toi-même avec tes forces et tes faiblesses. Parce que c’est très savoureux !

Laisser un commentaire

